Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem / Writing

I Wish That You Were Mine: Day 20 #OctPoWriMo

.

Pretty baby holding my thumb.

Smelly nappy, crusty hairline

Late night squealing makes tired Mum.

How I wish that you were mine.

Powdered milk, grey sloppy food.

Talcum powder after bath time.

Early mornings and frazzled mood.

How I wish that you were mine.

*

You’ll toddle and wobble about.

Broken toys, expanded waistline.

Run folks ragged, total burnout.

How I wish that you were mine.

Never, ever be born of me

Yearnings for you simply confine

In my broken, barren body

How I wish that you were mine.

* * *

PROMPT: To choose a type of poetry, write one from the an old poem.
This is timed and rhymed – not sure of its ‘type’ though?
I wrote it about my yearnings and acceptance that I will never become a mother.
.

Link up yours or check out the other’s at the other’s at the  #OctPoWriMo blog.

And please do comment before leaving. 😀

8 thoughts on “I Wish That You Were Mine: Day 20 #OctPoWriMo

  1. ❤ Shah. I want to stretch across those oceans and continents between and hold you. i want to share my children with you, knowing it would always be bittersweet.

    I want to tell you i know what bittersweet tastes like, and that I admire how you are finding sweetness in the bitter.

    I want to wave a magic wand and give you what you yearn for, and what a baby would be blessed to have in you.

    I grieve with you. Truly and deeply.

    I love you and hope these words will be some tiny measure of warmth in a bleak place.

    I am sharing your tears. I am honored that you shared, and strengthened by your bravery.

    I love you. Thousands of miles away is someone who is holding you close to her heart, and who knows how very not fair it is.

    You are cherished.

  2. This breaks my heart because I”ve been there too. It’s awful knowing you’ll never be a mother. I went through 8 in vitro cycles before I had to come to that realization. Thank you for sharing this – reading it has helped me find further healing.

    • So sorry – I can’t imagine how awful it was to go through it so many times. We did it twice and that was enough. W intended to try again this year, but my heart isn’t in it. Hugs to you for the future and moving on. X

  3. I hesitate to comment because my infertility is secondary. Three miscarriages and my heart broke too much to try as much as others. I so appreciate your words and your courage in putting them into the ether

    • I have never been pregnant, I can’t imagine how awful it must have been to have been, but then lose that baby inside. I imagine it’s a kind of hollow agony. I hope you can move forward, with or without a little one. I’m told life can be pretty great without, once one has accepted it as their reality. I think I’m getting there. X

  4. Your poem stops me cold. For every child needs a mother like you, loving, sensitive, and kind. Your poem recognizes that deep yearning within. I hope these words bring you healing.

  5. Pingback: shanjeniah

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

