Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: A Gift

Press play to listen to beautiful music from Charcoal while you read…

OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Lets write a Poem about Why We wrote that very first poem.”

Fathers Day

My dear old dad. He taught me to love words.

A Gift

.

He wrote of mum

before their split

He spoke of love

of heartbreak

of youth.

.

He wrote to me

before I’d grown

He taught me words

their power

their proof.

He aroused words

inspired by his

He nurtured verse

within me

my truth.

X

How did you first get into writing poetry?  

40 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: A Gift

  1. This is a very lovely piece. I’d say heartwrenching, but it ends well. There’s a silver-lining in everything.

    I got my start in poetry by walking through the door of my own anger. One fit through; more work to do.

    Great piece.

  2. I can truly feel every word you have written here..I have goosebumps writing this, for it was my Dad who encouraged me to pen down words – be it a school essay or poetry.
    Thank you for writing and sharing this gift with all of us 🙂

  3. Love this song of praise to your father as well as the neat phrasing and heartfelt ending: “He nurtured verse within me — my truth.” Looking forward to many more wonderful poems.

  4. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: A Gentle Restart. | Shah's Scribbles

  5. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: I am a woman… | Shah's Scribbles

  6. Pingback: Held – Day 11 #OctPoWriMo | Shah's Scribbles

  7. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: People & Places & Dreaded Parties | Shah's Scribbles

  8. Pingback: Book Cover for the Print Edition of Finding Esta. | Cover Design

  9. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Freddie and her Mariana | Shah's Scribbles

  10. Pingback: #ROW80 Round 4 Goals List. | Shah Wharton

  11. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Something about love. | Shah's Scribbles

  12. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Musical #Poem – ‘Liar’ | Shah's Scribbles

  13. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: The Stone That Bled | Shah's Scribbles

  14. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: ‘Belongs Between Us’ #Poetry | Shah's Scribbles

  15. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Dead Bud | Shah's Scribbles

  16. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Yellow Teardrop | Shah's Scribbles

  17. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Tumbling Silence | Shah's Scribbles

  18. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: In No Particular Order. | Shah's Scribbles

  19. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Vintage Void Fillers | Shah's Scribbles

  20. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Wives With Knives (Prompt – Bad #Poetry) | Shah's Scribbles

  21. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: ‘Comedy/Tragedy’ #Poem | Shah's Scribbles

  22. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: I have a plan… | Shah's Scribbles

  23. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Hiaku ‘How To Live’ | Shah's Scribbles

  24. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Searching | Shah's Scribbles

  25. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Intolerance Speaks | Shah's Scribbles

  26. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Memories of Her #poem | Shah's Scribbles

  27. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Two lives, checkered. A Diatelle #poem | Shah's Scribbles

  28. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Bipolar Distress | Shah's Scribbles

  29. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: This is the End (another year over). Two #Poems – Stumble On, Departure. | Shah's Scribbles

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

