Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: Something about love.

Please press play to listen to beautiful music. Vakning að elska by Misha Mishenko

.

Enjoy music while you read…

.

.

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: (In short) Write an Ode to LOVE.

.

Something about love.

(An Ode to David)

.

Oh.. there was once something said about love.

Something beautiful, but that I can’t think of.

…compared with lilacs and all earthly wonders,

in some sweet sonnet, by some great poet or other.

 .

Oh..  there was once something said about love.

Something beautiful, but that I can’t think of.

…its imagery and prose spoke to me of my lover

 in some sweet sonnet, by some great poet or other.

.

Oh.. I often hear it said about love.

Something of grace, as if sent from above

Its spirit, likened to Greek Gods and all they know..

…like the very philosophy of love you bestow.

.

Oh.. I often hear it said about love.

Something of grace, as if sent from above

Its power, matched with rolling waves and wind’s bellow

…like the very philosophy of love you bestow.

.

But,  I’ll tell you something about love.

It is all consuming, nonconforming, and is just.

Its knowledge, as luminous as any triumph of truth.

Oh… you – my love supreme, hear my words, my proof.

 .

Yes, I’ll tell you something about love.

It is all consuming, nonconforming, and is just.

Its life, as immortal & unyielding as are my vows of truth.

Oh… you – my love so real, hear my words, my proof.

.

My and true love. X

Me and my true love. 

11 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: Something about love.

  1. What I liked about this poem — in addition to that absolute commitment to the loved one which is at the heart of the poem — is the movement from memory to memory, from the ideal to the personal, from the classical to the immediate, to the now, to the one you love. Beautiful.

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

