Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: Musical #Poem – ‘Liar’

Press play to listen to beautiful music while you read…

Another one from Fabrizio PaterliniNuovi orizzonti (From Viandanze).

. #OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Write a poem that could be set to music!” 

*scan·sion
ˈskanSHən/
noun
1.the action of scanning a line of verse to determine its rhythm.
The music I chose above is beautiful, yet haunting, and it spoke to me of a love driven drama. Here’s what I came up with.
______________________________________

Liar

.

I see hours pass, but cannot touch

the moment

I hear voices, but can’t compute

the comment

I travel the routes I must, performing simple tasks.

But before I trust the sword,

 which caused this wound,

I ask:

 .

“Liar, liar, liar, liar?”

 .

And in between we dance

around the truth

around regret.

We glide through it all

as though, only clouds

lay between us

and our

Oath.

And we dance, toward romance

as though not to

 would surely

kill us

both.

.

That is, until…

 .

I breathe in, deeply,

but get no air

I have a path to walk, but cannot find

you there.

I know I see the sun, yet I do not feel the day

 I read your sweetest words,

while fighting doubts

that say:

 .

“Liar, liar, liar, liar!

 .

Still, in between we dance

around the truth

around regret.

We glide through it all

as though, only clouds

lay between us

and our

Oath.

And we dance, toward romance

as though not to

 would surely

kill us

both.

.

That is, until…

.

X

______________________________________

Rhythm, a sequence in time repeated, featured ...

12 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: Musical #Poem – ‘Liar’

  1. The one good thing that can be said for love gone sour is that it inspires so many great songs and poems!

  2. What an inspiration you and your poem are, Shah. I read the prompt and said, “Oh, Jeez! Let me see what others are doing.” Then I clicked on your link and found myself in the rhythm of your beautiful poem.

    Two favorite lines:
    “I see hours pass, but cannot touch
    the moment”
    and
    “I know I see the sun, yet I do not feel the day”

    Thank you so much. xoA

  3. Pingback: #ROW80: A Scheduling Rush-On! | Shah Wharton

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

