Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: The Stone That Bled

Press play to listen to beautiful music while you read…

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Reply Poetry

We have to choose a favourite poem and respond in a poetic form, to that poem.

Chosen/Favourite Poem is also a song by the poet/ song writer, Bob Dylan (I hope everyone agrees, he is most certainly a poet?) I adore pretty much all of his work, and although this is not my absolute favourite poem ever, I chose this for my dad’s funeral so it has quite the lingering affect. My father died 5th October 2005, too, s things are already floating around my mind.

He always sang along to this song as if it were about him, so it was fitting for his funeral, and he’d have liked the message it sent out to everyone. (Perhaps you had to know my dad to appreciate that, though).

Anyway, please press play to listen to this touching poem/song

Or read the words I’ve included:

.

It Ain’t Me Babe” 
by Bob Dylan

Go ‘way from my window
Leave at your own chosen speed
you are the one I want, babe
you are the one I need
You say I’m lookin’ for someone
Who’s never weak but always strong
To stand sacrifice themselves forever

But wrong
Someone to open each and every door
But it ain’t me, babe
No, no, no, it ain’t me babe.

It ain’t me you’re lookin’ for, babe.

Go lightly from the ledge, babe
Go lightly on the ground
I’m not the one you want, babe
I will only let your down
You say you’re lookin’ for someone
Who will promise never to part
Someone to close his eyes for you
Someone to close his heart
Someone who will die for you an’ more
But it ain’t me, babe
No, no, no, it ain’t me babe
It ain’t me you’re lookin’ for, babe.

Go melt back into the night
Everything inside is made of stone
There’s nothing in here moving
An’ anyway I’m not alone
You say you’re looking for someone
Who’ll pick you up each time you fall
To gather flowers constantly
An’ to come each time you call
A lover for your life an’ nothing more
But it ain’t me, babe
No, no, no, it ain’t me, babe
It ain’t me you’re lookin’ for, babe.

.

Bob Dylan at Massey Hall, Toronto, April 18, 1...
________________________________

This is my response…

________________________________

 The Stone That Bled

.

You were right in your assumptions

Never strong but always weak

Though those selfish needs of yours,

always found strength enough to speak.

So that in every wicked thought and every deed…

.

You were no good, Pa.

No, no, no.

You were no good, Pa

You were the backdrop of my strife and nothing more

The one we searched so hard for.

You were the one we cried for.

.

Then you’d write yourself a lifeline

Close your eyes to all broken needs

Open up your frosty heart to us,

regret and fret over all rotten deeds.

Then the stone of which you spoke would surely bleed…

.

We had you back, Pa.

Yes, yes, yes.

We had you back, Pa

You are the backdrop of my life, and so much more

The one we searched so hard for.

We are the ones you died for.

.
X
Fathers Day

My dear old dad.

26 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: The Stone That Bled

  1. I like Dylan. I knew I had grown when I began to understand some of his lyrics. That was a wonderful reweaving of that song. You should hear Johnny Cash sing it.

    • Funny you should say that, I almost chose that version for this instead of the Dylan track I added. But in the end, it had to be Bob. (Who I love so much – btw – I named TWO dogs after).

  2. Bob Dylan is a favorite of mine as well.
    It must be terribly hard to have a relative who hasn’t found peace with him or herself, so they make life hard for their family. My father was there for me, but he was such a perfectionist, and I never seemed to measure up. He was the “pull yourself up by your bootstraps” type, and I never mastered that.

  3. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: ‘Belongs Between Us’ #Poetry | Shah's Scribbles

  4. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Dead Bud | Shah's Scribbles

  5. Pingback: #ROW80: A Scheduling Rush-On! | Shah Wharton

  6. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Tumbling Silence | Shah's Scribbles

  7. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: The Apathy Way | Shah's Scribbles

  8. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: In No Particular Order. | Shah's Scribbles

  9. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Vintage Void Fillers | Shah's Scribbles

  10. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Wives With Knives (Prompt – Bad #Poetry) | Shah's Scribbles

  11. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: ‘Comedy/Tragedy’ #Poem | Shah's Scribbles

  12. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: I have a plan… | Shah's Scribbles

  13. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Hiaku ‘How To Live’ | Shah's Scribbles

  14. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Memories of Her #poem | Shah's Scribbles

  15. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: To Our Son #poem | Shah's Scribbles

  16. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: This is the End (another year over). Two #Poems – Stumble On, Departure. | Shah's Scribbles

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

