Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: Vintage Void Fillers

Please enjoy music while you read…

.

Press play to listen to beautiful music. Today I have Cherish by Frozen Silence

.

.

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Write about old games we played.”

.

CLICK FOR SOURCE

.

Vintage Void Fillers

.

In the playground, they played Oranges and Lemons,

or some skipped, Double Dutch, & others ran, screaming, ‘Tick!’

I would watch from the wall, sighing, picking chewed fingernails,

humming Harold Lloyd‘s theme tune to drown out the silence around me,

frowning over Dad’s pending visit.

…He promised.

.

At home, we could have played Connect Four, Monopoly (I wanna be the Boot!), 

or Snapand if big brother allowed, Pac Man or Asteroids. But

mostly, I watched TV till the sitters came; mom worked & my big brother had friends.

Then I’d be sent to my room, to unpack.

Dad… another no show. 

.

In my room, I played with Sindy and Barbie and Pippa, who never let me down.

We’d go on exotic holidays, shop, even dance, together. And we fell

in and out of love with big brothers Action Man. And we laughed & shared secrets, too.

Sometimes, I cried to them. They’d say, “It will be okay tomorrow,” 

because that’s what friends did …Right? 

.

X

brian & sharon 004

At our great granddad’s place in St Ives, Cornwall. Approximately (1978)

Enjoy a little Harold Lloyd! I used to love this fella!

Related articles
8 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: Vintage Void Fillers

  1. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: Wives With Knives (Prompt – Bad #Poetry) | Shah's Scribbles

  2. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 2013: I have a plan… | Shah's Scribbles

  3. Pingback: A quickie (if delayed) ROW80 update | Shah Wharton

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

