Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: Unbearable Tears & Your Smile #Poetry

Please enjoy music while you read…

.

Today I have another old fave of mine – Clair De Lune by Debussy.

.

.

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Today we’re going to focus on the people who have influenced on our lives for the better.”

These are about my husband. They offer a tiny idea of how I love him.

I didn’t want to write about how we met or why he has influenced me so positively, because that would be a long tedious tale of bleh…  🙂 So, I simply wanted the give snapshot of what he means to me. I hope I did that.

.

CLICK FOR SOURCE

Unbearable Tears

.

When you’re smiling, when you’re smiling

  …the whole world smiles with you.

.

But when you cry, when

torturous tears pool in your eyes,

preparing to pollute our joy, like

spiteful angels falling from grace…

…then Everest forms in my throat,

I choke, clutching my ribs –

clawing and clinging to both lungs,

as if soon to be stolen

by quickening breaths.

And my heart, it races,

as if toward life’s end.

.

Summoning

the Sun, the Moon, the Stars

I pray,

‘Turn out your lights, blind me with darkness,

 rain down,  flood our world to wash from his cheeks

this shattering scene.’

.

Because, my love,

when you’re crying, when you’re crying

…my whole world cries with you.

..

You’ll be pleased to know he doesn’t cry often. 🙂

.

That poem was inspired by another favourite song/artist of mine – Louis Armstrong‘s When You’re Smiling

 (can you tell I have an old soul)

You cannot leave without watching this… and keep on smiling! 😀 

.

.

What follows is an older poem, but at it’s still about my hubbie, I added it here. 🙂

.

Your Smile

Point your smile my way…

Let others seek and earn
with hard work, or
treachery – Their Millions!

Let others take and gain
with talent learned
or stolen – Their Fame!

For me, light up your smile.

.

.

9 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: Unbearable Tears & Your Smile #Poetry

  1. It is wonderful to find someone you can feel this way about. I have a very strong connection with my children and some other family, but have never had a positive romantic connection. You are fortunate!

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

