Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: Bipolar Distress

Please enjoy music while you read…

.

Press play to listen to beautiful music. Today I have Saturnus by Misha Mishenko

 

.

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: The Prompt: Choose a social issue that is important to you for your poem today. What calls your attention? Write from either a very individual and personal perspective or from a broad and global one.

Word Prompt: Social Issues

I could have gone on and one for this prompt. In the end I chose this poem, which I admit to writing a while back, although there were edits. I wanted to do the prompt justice but ran out of time to do so today.

I have bipolar disorder, as did my brother and as does my sister and niece. If you don’t know what that is like, read on. This is a conversation between someone with BD and their psychiatrist.

CLICK FOR SOURCE

CLICK FOR SOURCE

Bipolar Distress

Today I am so wonderful, so powerful am I.
If I step off this building, I know that I could fly.
God blessed only me like this, with such astounding grace.
Such mental agility and such a pretty face.
.
Don’t tell me that I’m suffering, I know you don’t know me
I’m all you hope to understand, and all you hope to be.
Anything I want to have, I know it will be mine.
All your fears of illness are simply out of time!

*

Today I am so terrified, so weakened by my mind.
If I stepped off this building, my ending would be kind.
I’m a God forsaken specimen, suicide’s my goal.
Feel my mental torture – the darkness in my soul!
.
Don’t tell me I will ‘be okay.’ I know you don’t know me.
I’m all you hope to understand, but never hope to be.
Everything I need to have, I know I will not find.
All your talk of wellness is surely not of mine!

*

Today I will not cry or cringe, nor fly from thought to thought.
I will not seek out death, nor such heights to fly toward
Godless, I survived the storm, and will all of the rest
– the strength of just one sufferer- her life will stand the test
.
I grasp that I will ‘be okay’. I get how you know me.
I’ll be all I ever could have been, if not all I hope to be.
Everything I’d like to have, I will search for till I find.
All your talk of living is a mountain I will climb.

 X

CLICK FOR SOURCE AND MORE INFORMATION

CLICK FOR SOURCE AND MORE INFORMATION

9 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: Bipolar Distress

  1. Really really really liked this one! So open and honest and thank you for being brave enough to admit you suffer from a mental illness. I have battled clinical depression but not bi-polar so I have some very small idea of what you might go through and I’m glad that there seems to be a new attitude of openness around mental illnesses.

  2. Good take on today’s prompt for social issues, Shah. Your poem catches the high and low of being bi-polar accurately and lyrically, a cry for help and, thankfully, a mental illness better understood today, though very difficult to cope with as an individual or supportive family. This poem helps others understand that a bi-polar illness is not equal to the ups-and-downs we all experience. Bravo!

  3. Pingback: Mental Muse: The Mental Health Advocacy Meme for Authors Welcomes Sydnie Beaupré | Shah Wharton

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

