Challenge / My Shorts / OctPoWriMo / Poem / The Dead Party

#OctPoWriMo 2013: This is the End (another year over). Two #Poems – Stumble On, Departure.

Please enjoy music while you read…

 

Today I have Lontana, dolcemente sospesa by Fabrizio Paterlini

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Endings And Beginnings: Shadow Poetry.”

What follows are two poems about my brother who died 2004

"One million people die by suicide every year in the United States. In Hawai‘i, someone dies by suicide every other day. These individuals leave behind countless family members and friends to make sense of the tragedy. Survivors often experience a wide range of grief reactions, including anger, shock, and symptoms of depression and guilt." DAMONTUCKER.COM

“One million people die by suicide every year in the United States. In Hawai‘i, someone dies by suicide every other day. These individuals leave behind countless family members and friends to make sense of the tragedy. Survivors often experience a wide range of grief reactions, including anger, shock, and symptoms of depression and guilt.” DAMONTUCKER.COM

* Although I like reading mirror poetry, I hated writing it. This is the only form I’ve disliked, so far. It’s thankfully brief. 🙂 

 

Stumble On

~

You stumbled on through life

life only left you parched

parched as life, less blood

blood to bloodless

bloodless, you now lay silent

silent, we stumble on, your life now gone.

X

What follows was written couple of years after Brian died (I did make a few changes today however)  He had a much nastier form of bipolar then I, and took his own life. This is what happened.

 

AssortedPics985-1

Taken less than a year before he died. R.I.P Brian. You continue to be missed a little part of every day.

~

Departure

 

Cough, choke –

Head engorged

Oxygen starved

Starched prison sheet

In shreds, like a

Poor man’s ribbon

Around your throat

Closed tight.

Tissues of ‘goodbyes’

At your feet, for your kin

Salty tracks on

Bloated pink cheeks

They breathed their breath

Passed parched thin, blue lips

Over your swollen tongue

They pounded

 Your robust young chest, then

Listened a while

At the dwindling

Durum, durum

.

Then to

Silence.

 M

Don’t forget to try my author blog. No, I don’t talk about me (me, me, me) and my books all the time. You are much more likely to find other authors (who write speculative fiction mostly) and their books, my reviews, guest posts, giveaways, tours, latest news/tips/links, featured authors, etc. But I do keep everyone up to date on my author / publishing progress during various memes,  ROW80 updates for example, for those who are interested. I hope to see you there.

PS: A gift for signing up to my author blog newsletter is a short story (approx 5+k) I wrote a while back (recently edited) entitled, The Dead Party – Political zombie satire set in UK. Just saying. 🙂

X

14 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: This is the End (another year over). Two #Poems – Stumble On, Departure.

  1. I haven’t written my last poem yet, but hopped over to read yours. Chokingly poignant and beautiful, both of them. As always, you leave me inspired. I’ve enjoyed this month getting to know you as an artist. You’re amazing.

  2. Beautiful, Shah. I’m truly sorry for your loss but you capture your pain most gracefully and I hope that’s helped you get through it all 🙂 It’s been great getting to know your writing this month, I will continue to follow you!

  3. I had to take a departure from OctPoWriMo, so that’s my hiccup this year, hopefully next year, I’ll do better. I knew mirror poetry to be loop poetry, which you’ve written is beautiful and poignant, (I love both the poems), and I really respect you as the person you are and the artist you have become, sharing life experiences in such a creative way.

  4. Pingback: What do you think of endings? #Poetry, #EndingsBlogfest | Shah Wharton

  5. Pingback: World Suicide Prevention Day: Suicide prevention matters to everyone. #EndSuicide | Shah Wharton

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

