Challenge / OctPoWriMo / Poem

#OctPoWriMo 2013: The Apathy Way

Please enjoy music while you read…

.

Press play to listen to beautiful music. Today I have Preludium nio by Daniel Innala Ahlmark

.

.

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Headlines.” (Search the news and find inspiration in the headlines) Pretty much 🙂

.

The Apathy Way

 .

Our dog’s barking at the door

Outside, I see more rain falling,

many cars queued at lights, waiting

Birdsong too drowned-out, to silence

 .

Breakfast T.V starts at six

We chew cereal, drink our tea

The News says, ‘thousands die daily’

Sighing, I search the Daily Mail.

.

‘Economic downfall’ headlined

Murder and rape came optional

Dire, rendered merely topical

after years, incrementally.

 .

My I-pod plays ‘Dylan’s Greats,

and pavements offer a clear run.

Save for vagrants beneath the sun,

in shop doorways and on benches.

 .

Some kids play in burned out cars,

and do not care to go to school.

Fearful, head down, play it cool

I walk-on blind to lunch with friends.

.

Where we discuss the latest news

and feign exasperated views…

while looking at the pictures. 

X

CLICK FOR SOURCE

* I should like to point out, the ‘I’ in this isn’t supposed to be me. Although, I’m as guilty as anyone of this apathy, sometimes.

11 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: The Apathy Way

  1. I enjoyed all the emotional vignettes throughout. The dog barking, the rain the cars, chewing cereal, kids playing in burnt out cars. Poignant.

  2. Pingback: A quickie (if delayed) ROW80 update | Shah Wharton

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

