#OctPoWriMo 2013: The Apathy Way

Please enjoy music while you read…

.

Press play to listen to beautiful music. Today I have Preludium nio by Daniel Innala Ahlmark

.

.

#OCTPOWRIMO: Every day for one month I’ll collect inspiration from here and write/post a poem here. You can too!

 

PROMPT: “Headlines.” (Search the news and find inspiration in the headlines) Pretty much 🙂

.

The Apathy Way

 .

Our dog’s barking at the door

Outside, I see more rain falling,

many cars queued at lights, waiting

Birdsong too drowned-out, to silence

 .

Breakfast T.V starts at six

We chew cereal, drink our tea

The News says, ‘thousands die daily’

Sighing, I search the Daily Mail.

.

‘Economic downfall’ headlined

Murder and rape came optional

Dire, rendered merely topical

after years, incrementally.

 .

My I-pod plays ‘Dylan’s Greats,

and pavements offer a clear run.

Save for vagrants beneath the sun,

in shop doorways and on benches.

 .

Some kids play in burned out cars,

and do not care to go to school.

Fearful, head down, play it cool

I walk-on blind to lunch with friends.

.

Where we discuss the latest news

and feign exasperated views…

while looking at the pictures. 

X

CLICK FOR SOURCE

* I should like to point out, the ‘I’ in this isn’t supposed to be me. Although, I’m as guilty as anyone of this apathy, sometimes.

11 thoughts on “#OctPoWriMo 2013: The Apathy Way

  1. I enjoyed all the emotional vignettes throughout. The dog barking, the rain the cars, chewing cereal, kids playing in burnt out cars. Poignant.

    Like

Please Don't Leave Without Sharing Or Commenting...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.